Zilla Panchayath

  • minemag

    January 2022 eMagazine Inauguration

  • adaptlib

    Adopt Library

  • sbm

    Swachatha Ratha

  • emaginaug

    December 2021 e-Magazine Inauguration

  • emag


emagzine august 2022
Chief Executive Officer Shri. M.S.Divakara, I.A.S.,

Chief Executive Officer

For smooth functioning & administration of the Zilla Panchayat office , an officer designated “Chief Executive Officer” is appointed by the state government to carry out administration of Zilla Panchayat. He is assisted in the discharge of his duties by Senior Officers in the Zilla Panchayat .

The Karnataka Panchayath Raj Bill, 1993 seeks to replace the Karnataka Zill Parisath’s, Taluk Panchayath samithi’s, Mandala Panchayath’s and Nyaya Panchayath’s Act 1983 Consequent upon the changes proposed in the 73rd Constitution(Amendment) Bill,1991.

The Bill is to establish a three tier Panchayat Raj system in the state with the elected bodies of grama,taluk and district level for greater participation of people and more effective implementation of rural development programmes in the state.

Grama Panchayat is the first tier of Panchayat Raj institution which comprises of a village or group of villages. The Grama Panchayat consist of such number of elected members as may be notified from time to time by the state election commission at the rate of one member for every 400 population or part their of the Panchayat area. Number of seats reserved for SC and ST is in proportion to population of SC and ST, however at least one seat each is reserved in Grama Panchayat for person belonging to SC, ST. as nearly as may be 1/3rd of the total seats of the Grama Panchayat is reserved for the person belonging to the backward classes. Minimum 50% of seats is reserved for women. Every Grama Panchayat has a president and vice president which are chosen by elected members of Grama Panchayat from amongst themselves as per the provision of section 45 of Karnataka Panchayat Raj Act,1993. Section 49 of Karnataka Panchayat Raj Act, 1993 provides for motion of no confidence against the president or vice president of the Grama Panchayat. The corum for a meeting for Grama Panchayat is 50% of the total number of members. Grama Panchayat performs all the functions provided in section 58 of Karnataka Panchayat Raj Act, 1993.Elected bodies are Grama, Taluk and District level. There are 189 GPs in the district.

Chief Executive Officer


Address: Chief Executive Officer, Stadium Road, Zilla Panchayat, Chitradurga -577501.

Phone: 08194-223061


Deputy Secretary


Phone: 08194-222663

E-Mail :

Chief Planning Officer


Phone: 08194-222792

E-Mail :

Chief Accounts Officer


Phone: 08194-223064

E-Mail :

Project Director


Phone: 9480861002

E-Mail :

Previous Print Issues